top of page
Yale Cellos videos

In April of 2010, the Yale Cellos were filmed preparing for and performing their highly-anticipated annual concert in Sprague Hall. Dean Parisot, son of Aldo Parisot and an acclaimed director of major motion pictures, directed the filming.


"About the Yale Cellos" shows the ensemble in rehearsal with Aldo Parisot, and includes interviews with the Dean of the Yale School of Music, Robert Blocker; Assistant Professor of Cello, Ole Akahoshi; composer and pianist Dave Brubeck, and composer Angel Lam. The 2010 program featured Brubeck's "Concordia" and Lam's "The Emperor of Eight Thousand Women Ghosts," as well as music by Bach, Grieg, Barber, Handel, and Kilar.


The two video selections from that concert are by J. S. Bach. The first is the opening movement of the Brandenburg Concerto No. 3, transcribed for Aldo Parisot and the Yale Cellos by Claude Kenneson. The second is the "Sarabande" from Cello Suite No. 6 in D major, arranged by C. Hampton.


Many of Aldo Parisot's paintings are displayed on the walls of the Sprague Hall stage during the concert, making the performance -- and these videos -- by the Yale Cellos a feast to both the eye and the ear.

About the Yale Cellos

Bach: Brandenburg  Concerto No. 3 (1st movement)

Bach: Sarabande from Cello Suite No. 6

bottom of page